Recipes

Lemon Garlic Fish Because We’re Supposed To Eat Healthy

Right? That’s a thing, especially in the new year, we’re supposed to do that. Ugh. Cooking healthy is not, in fact, more difficult than cooking unhealthy. But I have to buy DIFFERENT ingredients, and that is where I’m lazy.

BUT, recently I got myself a Sam’s Club membership (it’s like Costco or Tesco or other wholesale shopping “clubs”) and they have these big ass bags of Tilapia fillets for relatively cheap. And Tilapia is dope as hell. Really though you can mix this up with just about any kind of fish and it would be great.

7qpxvky
I literally always laugh at this

I’m not all that fond of fish, tbh, and I hate that I have to order it well done at restaurants because otherwise it comes back not. cooked. in. the. middle. And that shit just don’t fly. For the record, yes, I’ve tried sushi. Multiple different kinds, from different places. I just don’t like it. Raw fish, pickled fish, vegetarian, none of it has anything that appeals to me.

ernie

But anyway, back to the fish.

Pro-tip: It’s super easy to make a dish look fancy if you put fresh herbs on it. I grow my own herbs and stuff, and if I can keep them alive, so can you, I promise.

Anyway, as with most of the super simple dishes I make, my hubby loved this one. Prep took me less than 5 minutes because I didn’t even crush my own garlic. I originally got the recipe here but altered it some because there is no way I’m buying lemons just to squeeze them onto fish.

img_4683
mmmm butter

Anyway, it really was super quick and easy, and I served it up with some steamed broccoli (also from Sam’s.)

img_4684
look how fancy with herbs

And it turned out phenomenal. 8.5/10 will add to the rotation. Would get higher score if it had parmesan cheese.

Heeere Fishy Fishy Fishy
Lemon Garlic Tilapia

Ingredients

  • 3-6 tilapia fillets and geez that’s a wide variation
  • A shitton of crushed garlic. I’m lazy, I used the kind in the jar.
  • 3 tbsp of butter
  • 4-5 tbsp of lemon juice
  • A few sprinkles of parsley
  • A few sprinkles of oregano
  • Salt-n-pepa

 

  1. Preheat yo oven to fo-hunnit degrees.
  2. Toss the butter and garlic in a skillet and saute that shit for about 2-3 minutes. Just lightly browned. Add in all but a tablespoon of lemon juice and remove from heat.
  3. I didn’t feel like cleaning up so I put foil on my pan and then sprayed it with cooking spray, and doused the remaining lemon juice all over it.
  4. Slap them tilapia fillets on the tray, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and spoon that lemony garlic butter over the tops. Finish off with oregano and parsley.
  5. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until they all golden brown and delicious.
Leave a Reply

